Free 186 More Best Homemade Tools eBook:  
Get 2,000+ tool plans, full site access, and more.

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Aluminum Bronze Axe Head

Thanks

CEvonK's Tools

Aluminum Bronze Axe Head

I recently started learning to cast metals that have higher melting points than lead and pewter. Here is a pictorial history of the process of casting an aluminum bronze axe head. The head is a modeled on an historic 10th century Viking (Norwegian) axehead. I copied a picture from the British Museum's webpage, enlarged it to the dimensions indicated in it's description, and printed that as a template for my pattern. The original axe had a D-handle eye, while mine has a 3 degree slope tomahawk eye. The original was iron with an inserted steel bit. Mine preserves the shape of that junction between iron and steel, but is just a design element instead of the location of an actual joint. The aluminum bronze alloy is 88% Cu, 1.5% Ni, and 10.5% Al. It peens nice and hard, and I have hacked a 2" square piece of maple with the blade without deformation or need to resharpen -- the edge picture below is after that usage.

Some things I learned:

The axe is too heavy, by about 10 ounces. The axe body is overall too thick -- it's 1/4" thick across the flat of the blade -- should be about 1/8"; it's 5/16" thick around the eye -- should be about 3/16"; it's 3/8" thick across the faux bit weld -- should be about 1/4". I was a little bit limited by my pattern material (wood), and afraid that if I carved it too thin, especially across the flat, that it would deform or split from stresses in the wood.

The fine facing sand worked well at picking up detail. I got much better surface detail and smoothness than with regular greensand. I was even able to pick up the detail of some cellophane tape that I used to cover some peg holes in the pattern.