Free 186 More Best Homemade Tools eBook:  
Get 2,000+ tool plans, full site access, and more.

User Tag List

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Thread: Chinese plan for failure?

Thanks
    Thanked 6,396 Times in 2,119 Posts

mklotz's Tools
    Does anyone even make an honest six horsepower motor that runs on 120 volt, single phase power with no concern for current?

I'm not an expert but I doubt it. Motors that big are generally three phase and use higher voltage.

As I've said before...If you treat intentional deception as lying, then virtually all advertising is lying.

I saw an ad on TV last night for a $20 replica of a solid gold (non-negotiable) buffalo nickel once marketed by the US mint to collectors. They trumpeted the fact that it was plated with a massive 14 mg of pure 24kt gold.

Gold is selling for ~ $36.70 / gm so that's a stunning 51 cents worth of gold plating.

Viewers are first told about the solid gold coin. Then they hit them with the 14 mg, no doubt depending on the fact that the average American is totally ignorant of the metric system and wouldn't know a gram from a tram.

186 More Best Homemade Tools eBook
    ---
    Regards, Marv

Home Shop Freeware
    https://www.myvirtualnetwork.com/mklotz

2. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to mklotz For This Useful Post:

PJs (Dec 19, 2016), Toolmaker51 (Dec 19, 2016)

PJs
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,118 Times in 718 Posts

PJs's Tools
    Quote Originally Posted by mklotz View Post
    Does anyone even make an honest six horsepower motor that runs on 120 volt, single phase power with no concern for current?

I'm not an expert but I doubt it. Motors that big are generally three phase and use higher voltage.

As I've said before...If you treat intentional deception as lying, then virtually all advertising is lying.