Free 186 More Best Homemade Tools eBook:  
Get 2,000+ tool plans, full site access, and more.

User Tag List

Thread: Crash Course on GRBL public licence CNC control.

Thanks

MeJasonT's Tools

Crash Course on GRBL public licence CNC control.

I’m sure there are many newbies out there who are looking at projects on homemadetools.com and wondering how the hell do they do that, I was one of those people.

I came across Jon Saunders at NYCCNC

Jon’s description is absolutely bang on, he is a really approachable guy and self-taught as a machinist who started working out of his apartment in NYC.

His videos are really easy to understand and he doesn’t hold anything back, he is without doubt the greatest ambassador for engineering on the planet. I like to impart knowledge where ever I can but I’m nowhere near his level. So this post is really just to show you what you need and to provide some background on where to start.

When I started building my CNC machines I didn’t have a clue about Computer Numerical Control (CNC), well ok I knew that somehow coordinates were generated form lines and arcs in a drawing and used to drive axis to a desired position. I could produce a CAD drawing bot had no clue about post processors at all, the magic thing about 3D printers is that firmware like marlin and operating software such as Pronterface make the whole process of going from drawing to machine really easy.
    To go from professional CAD to machines is a whole new ball game which I’m pleased to say is getting easier with fusion 360 and the new version of solidworks; unfortunately it comes at a price.

So you want to build a cnc machine, let’s start with a bit of top down approach.

Crash Course on GRBL public licence CNC control.-mycnc_connections.jpg
    Image taken from
    https://okelectronic.wordpress.com/category/grbl/
    all Credit toOakkar7

This is perfect as its based on the Arduino Uno as a controller.