Free 186 More Best Homemade Tools eBook:  
Get 2,000+ tool plans, full site access, and more.

User Tag List

Thread: A dumb lathe threading question

Thanks

A dumb lathe threading question

Spent almost three hours searching and found nothing, so, here goes: is there a boring bar, preferably 3/4" diameter, with the right geometry to hold both threading and turning inserts? The closest I've seen is one that holds a triangular turning insert (can't remember the name), but might also accommodate standard 3-sided 60 degree internal threading inserts. I'm still learning terminology of insert names, so it's all pretty confusing.

186 More Best Homemade Tools eBook

Supporting Member LMMasterMariner's Avatar
    Thanks

LMMasterMariner's Tools
    Hi,

I also spent too much time searching for threading tools, bars and inserts, but I have good excuse.
    Can't speak Chinese. And I found them all at www.taobao.
    So, these bars for threading inserts are called SNR Indexable Internal Threading Tool.
    But I think that these can't be used with 60 deg boring inserts. Will check if possible once I
    am home again. I already collected all information and placed order for 3 different sizes
    of above and also for threading inserts. Here below is what I will get soon in China.

Best regards
    LMMasterMariner
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails A dumb lathe threading question-snr-tool-holder.jpg   A dumb lathe threading question-16-ir-tr.jpg   A dumb lathe threading question-16-ir-ag60.jpg   A dumb lathe threading question-11-ir-a60.jpg  

2000 Tool Plans

Thanks
    You may want to check this China website. A large selection of carbide inserts and holders. And it's in English.
    https://www.banggood.com/search/carbide-insert.html

4. The Following User Says Thank You to Catwatcher For This Useful Post:

LMMasterMariner (Aug 6, 2017)

Thanks