Free 186 More Best Homemade Tools eBook:  
Get 2,000+ tool plans, full site access, and more.

User Tag List

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Thread: Gas cylinder welding fire - GIF

Thanks
    Thanked 8,788 Times in 4,207 Posts

Frank S's Tools
    The son of the Blacksmith at the shop where I worked as a kid got called to hot tap a high pressure nat gas line while under pressure. He and I went out I ground the pipe clean then he welded the nipple in place then the gas company screwed the ball valve on then they screwed in a piercing tool into the valve. I much larger version of the freon puncture device you would use to add freon to your car's AC they screwed it in then backed it out closed the valve and removed the tool not a bit of Nat gas was lost from the 3000 PSI line.
    I've repaired a lot of cracks in fuel tanks on equipment. Not the easiest thing to do diesel is oily and makes it hard tro weld but if you burn hot enough and keep the fuel level above the weld it works OK but not for the faint at heart or inexperienced you can get yourself and others killed.