Free 186 More Best Homemade Tools eBook:  
Get 2,000+ tool plans, full site access, and more.

User Tag List

Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 LastLast

Thread: A glimmer of hope

Thanks
    Thanked 6,380 Times in 2,117 Posts

mklotz's Tools

A glimmer of hope

A recent post on HSM had the following quote...

"The use of gauge number is discouraged as being an archaic term of limited usefulness not having general agreement on meaning." (Specification ASTM A480-10a)

I found it immensely satisfying to see that the folks who arbitrate the quagmire of nomenclature systems have finally had the good sense to say what I've been preaching for many years - the only sensible way to label things is by their sizes as measured using a decimal measurement system.

I don't expect their recommendation to have any effect whatsoever on the dinosaurs who still treasure the inferial nonsense but it's nice to know that a glimmer of intelligence is peeking through the curtain.

186 More Best Homemade Tools eBook
    ---
    Regards, Marv

Home Shop Freeware
    https://www.myvirtualnetwork.com/mklotz

2. The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to mklotz For This Useful Post:

metric_taper (Jun 2, 2017), Moby Duck (Jun 2, 2017), Paul Jones (Jun 3, 2017), rlm98253 (Jun 2, 2017), Seedtick (Jun 2, 2017), volodar (Jun 2, 2018)

Thanks
    Thanked 8,766 Times in 4,195 Posts

Frank S's Tools
    I'm afraid that peeking may be about all though. at least until manufactures of materials normally listed in gauge sizes adopt a decimal measurement system

2000 Tool Plans
    Never try to tell me it can't be done
    When I have to paint I use KBS products

Thanks

mklotz's Tools
    The only way to fix the problem is to fully adopt the metric system, teach only that in the schools, and wait for all the dinosaurs to die out.