Free 186 More Best Homemade Tools eBook:  
Get 2,000+ tool plans, full site access, and more.

User Tag List

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Help me find a modern use for this tool

Supporting Member
    Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by bluegrallis View Post
    I worked as a machinist, tool maker and machine repairman for most of 40 years. The angle of the tool is not important for it's intended use. It is set to a certain height by use of a micrometer or a height gage and used to set a precise angle with a sine bar or sine plate.
    I also worked as a Tool Maker for 35 years before retiring 2 years ago. I used them as bluegrallis did with a height gage to set precise angles on sine plates. By using, for example, a 10" sine plate, you would determine what angle you wanted to accomplish, fine the SINE of that angle, multiply that by 10 for the 10" sine plate (or 5 for a 5" sine bar). This is the height you would set the planer gage to and the let the "boss" of the sine plate/bar on it to achieve the angle. The extra bars are just extensions so you can achieve higher heights and as such, steeper angles.

186 More Best Homemade Tools eBook

Thanks
    Thanked 6,396 Times in 2,119 Posts

mklotz's Tools
    OK, a bit of follow-up.

As a result of my HSM thread, several fellows measured their planer gauges' angles. They were all different; it seems each manufacturer has his own idea of what it should be. Obviously, this blows my idea that it's a useful feature out of the water. Well, it was a good thought and perhaps my discussion will inspire some toolbuilder out there to make a new and intriguing tool. Perhaps somebody learned a little about measuring angles accurately as well.

Yes, planer gauges can be used to set sinebars. I've already discussed the error implications of using something other than Jo blocks in my error analysis here...

http://www.homemadetools.net/forum/s...7695#post37510