Free 186 More Best Homemade Tools eBook:  
Get 2,000+ tool plans, full site access, and more.

User Tag List

Thread: Homemade welding electrode oven

Thanks

ATK 11's Tools

Homemade welding electrode oven

This is my first build using the new welder and one of my first videos thanks for watching
    -9 min
    -feel free to comment and give a thumbs up if you enjoyed watching thanks
    -Suggestions on design improvements welcomed

Cheers Alex
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Homemade welding electrode oven-20150731_103425.jpg  

186 More Best Homemade Tools eBook
    Last edited by ATK 11; Oct 21, 2015 at 11:27 AM.

2. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ATK 11 For This Useful Post:

Jon (Oct 20, 2015), kbalch (Oct 21, 2015)

Content Editor
    Supporting Member
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,852 Times in 1,653 Posts
    Thanks ATK 11! We've added your Welding Electrode Oven to our Welding and Heating and Cooling categories, as well as to your builder page: ATK 11's Homemade Tools. Your receipt:

2000 Tool Plans

Thanks

Moby Duck's Tools
    Nice design, I particularly like the angle cut lid and the pop can lifter BUT there are some serious electrical safety problems with your design.
    1. All electrical devices need an earth (ground) wire connection unless they are certified and double insulated. If a fault develops in the element the whole oven can become 'live' and touching the live oven and any other earth, (say your welding table), can result in electrocution. A two pin plug is not good enough.
    2. The un-insulated neutral wire push on connector, although technically at earth potential is just as dangerous as a live wire under fault conditions with any other piece of shop equipment.
    3. There appears to be no thermostat or cut off fitted. In theory this oven should keep heating up until the element burns out or melts. It needs to switch off automatically at a predetermined temperature.