Free 186 More Best Homemade Tools eBook:  
Get 2,000+ tool plans, full site access, and more.

User Tag List

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: How it all got started

Thanks
    Thanked 6,396 Times in 2,119 Posts

mklotz's Tools
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul Jones View Post
    Marv and all,

The lathe experience paid-off and helped launch my eventual career.
    All the experience I gained in those shop courses and in my Dad's basement shop helped immensely in the course of my education and career as well.

In a high school AP biology course, I built a perfusion machine to keep rabbit kidneys alive without the benefit of a rabbit while I studied the effect of various contaminants in the blood stream. This involved building pumps, both blood and water, an oxygen diffusion gauge, and cannulae for connecting the kidney arteries and ureter to the machine.

The machine is long gone but I still have my documentation of the work including a hand-drawn sketch of the machine. I don't have a scanner big enough for it but I took this picture with it pinned to a window for maximum contrast; you should be able to get the idea of how it worked...

In college, one of the physics labs required us to build a radiation detector tube, turning metal and blowing glass. It was my first experience with making pass-through-glass wiring. I can remember helping several Bronx High School of Science graduates with the lathe work. They had grown up in New York apartments and had never seen anyone except the apartment house super use tools.

My senior project in college involved superconducting solenoids which meant more lathe work to make the coil forms and associated field measurement instrumentation . I was studying various properties of the Niobium-Zirconium wire in use then. These fist-sized coils could generate extremely intense fields while wired to an ordinary automobile battery because, of course, they had zero resistance so could draw huge amounts of current.