Free 186 More Best Homemade Tools eBook:  
Get 2,000+ tool plans, full site access, and more.

User Tag List

Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 LastLast

Thread: Mod Marv's Lantern vise

Thanks
    Thanked 2,977 Times in 1,892 Posts

Toolmaker51's Tools
    Quote Originally Posted by C-Bag View Post
    Makes sense TM51. How would you do the relief cut? Like with a small end mill, or? Sorry, I'm a noob.
    Depends on size of Vee desired, small enough endmills are extraordinarily delicate. Many milling macines I've had access to aren't running well enough to utilize small cutters. Spindle, quill, and leadscrews need to be in good shape to provide 'feedback' that your senses use to control the operation.
    In the post, offered alternatives that are reliable. Hack saw, band saw. circular blade, cutoff wheel, end mill...all applicable.
    There are occasions where a endmill was used, after a saw cut to relieve load on a diminutive cutter. Two flutes probably better choice for chip clearance/ ejection as depth proportionately exceeds the width perhaps 3-4 times. A simple layout will illustrate size of sufficient relief in a specific Vee.

186 More Best Homemade Tools eBook
    Sincerely,
    Toolmaker51
    ...we'll learn more by wandering than searching...

Thanks

C-Bag's Tools
    My solution was to put a centerline for the base of the V on the end of the vise. If the old mill drill would have had a knee I think it would have been easier., would it not? Because I had only Z axis to feed and the work at 45deg in the vise I had to try and keep the edge of endmill on the centerline by fiddling with the X axis. I do have some spare endmills I could try sharpening into 90deg drill mills........

2000 Tool Plans

Thanks
    Thanked 2,977 Times in 1,892 Posts

Toolmaker51's Tools
    Without fixturing, grinding a successful 45 degree cutter will be difficult. Almost guaranteed to run more like a single lip.