Free 186 More Best Homemade Tools eBook:  
Get 2,000+ tool plans, full site access, and more.

User Tag List

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Thread: Split Point Drill sharpening

Thanks
    OHHHH,,,OHHHHHHHHHHHHH OHHHHH OHHHHH OHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!! (channeling sam kinison ) oh how could u us the SIDE of grinding wheel!!!!!!!!!!! how do i get OSHA to come and pay u a visit !!!!!! and then your state version of OSHA !!!!!!! i have NEVER in my 41 years of machining experience seen anyone use the side of a grinding wheel for anything...way too dangerous, a wheel breakage at 3200 rpm or even 1750 can really tear u up !!!!! ok rant done,, i have always used the proper face of grinding wheel to sharpen drill bits,and grind a thinning of the web if needed when drilling by hand,,too..i will however try your way sometime, but all of the drill bits i have bought or used have always had the regular point and work just fine,,i would like to know how long your split point does hold up ,do a test,, drill more of that plate steel till dull,without cutting oil, and let us know,,

186 More Best Homemade Tools eBook
    Last edited by madokie; Jan 13, 2019 at 10:55 PM.

2. The Following User Says Thank You to madokie For This Useful Post:

Okapi (Jan 14, 2019)

Thanks
    Thanked 2,981 Times in 1,893 Posts

Toolmaker51's Tools
    Grinding on the side of a wheel, agreed, can be risky. But the amount of pressure to point a drill this size isn't likely to fracture a sound wheel. It's more when grinding puts a groove in that surface initiating a weakened secondary periphery, and reacts to centrifugal force. Remember, side-wheeling isn't all that rare on reciprocating [surface] grinders, it's just better controlled alignment.

2000 Tool Plans
    Sincerely,
    Toolmaker51
    ...we'll learn more by wandering than searching...

Thanks

bobneumann's Tools
    Quote Originally Posted by madokie View Post