Free 186 More Best Homemade Tools eBook:  
Get 2,000+ tool plans, full site access, and more.

User Tag List

Thread: Help Much Appreciated: School Project

Thanks

Help Much Appreciated: School Project

Hello Everyone!

I am an engineering student in high school and I am very much interested in the automotive world. After working on my own car for some time, I have found that access to a press tool would have saved me time and aggravation, but a teenager's income does not support purchases like hydraulic presses. For a school project, I am researching and developing new potential press technology that would be more affordable to the average home mechanic. If you could complete my survey, I would greatly appreciate your help! Thanks!

Here is the link:

https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1F...PfEjg/viewform

186 More Best Homemade Tools eBook

Thanks
    Thanked 2,977 Times in 1,892 Posts

Toolmaker51's Tools
    It's good to know vocational interests are not lost on the younger generations. Many of us here are, due to a spark planted at an indeterminate point in our own development. That many feed their families this way is more than significant justification.
    To my preference and vernacular, what you pursue is less 'new technology' than design improvement. As a term, whether noun, verb, or adjective, technology is severely over utilized.
    For example: Hair sprays are chemistry, not so much tech. Same applies to most current advertising. This, I believe stems from unversed marketing 'experts' wasted au courant efforts, evidently zero applicable experience toward any of the varied engineering disciplines.