Free 186 More Best Homemade Tools eBook:  
Get 2,000+ tool plans, full site access, and more.

User Tag List

Thread: Model Building "Soft Jaws" for regular ole "Forceps"?

Thanks

Hemi's Tools

Cool Model Building "Soft Jaws" for regular ole "Forceps"?

Everyone,
    As some here know, I'm an avid model builder, and have quite the shop... That said one of my latest builds, I needed a VERY SMALL set of pliers, that had "Soft Jaws" with NO serrated jaws... That said, the smallest "Pliers" I could find, was in fact one of my sets of "Forceps". HOWEVER, they had serrated Jaws that would marr the finish of the item I needed to hold, firmly.. that said, here is what I did to make "Soft Jaws" for on my "Forceps"....

See? Regular ole Forceps......

NOW the same Forceps with "Soft Jaws"!!!!!!

And NOW the trick..... Heat Shrink Tubing on the Jaws......

The thing is, if you EVER want or need to remove, or replace the soft jaws, cut off the heat shrink tubing and use as normal Forceps, OR add more in-place of the old stuff you removed!!!!

186 More Best Homemade Tools eBook

2. The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Hemi For This Useful Post:

NortonDommi (Jun 20, 2018), Paul Jones (Jun 20, 2018), PJs (Jun 21, 2018), Seedtick (Jun 21, 2018)

Content Editor
    Supporting Member
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,850 Times in 1,652 Posts

Thanks Hemi! We've added your Soft Jaw Parts Holder to our Model Making category,
    as well as to your builder page: Hemi's Homemade Tools. Your receipt:

2000 Tool Plans

4. The Following User Says Thank You to DIYer For This Useful Post:

Hemi (Jun 20, 2018)

Thanks

Hemi's Tools
    Thanks DIYer..... MUCH Appreciated!!!!!

Thanks

NortonDommi's Tools
    Hi Hemi,
    Nice one! P.V.C. tubing works too if heated and forced on it shrinks as it cools. Bit more effort than heat shrink though and bulkier.

Supporting Member
    Thanks