Free 186 More Best Homemade Tools eBook:  
Get 2,000+ tool plans, full site access, and more.

User Tag List

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Thread: USS Iowa machine shop - photos

Thanks
    Thanked 2,977 Times in 1,892 Posts

Toolmaker51's Tools
    Quote Originally Posted by rdarrylb View Post
    Thank you, Toolmaker51 ! I used a Kearney & Trecker rotary head mill many years ago when I was a mold maker apprentice. Sadly the market went bad foor our company and I was laid off. Never did get back into that line of work. Saw a Kearney & Trecker rotary head mill at the US Air Force Museum shop in Dayton on a visit 10 years ago. I still find them fascinating.
    No coincidence, we all started in mold work, and you mention apprenticing on Milwaukee-Kearney Trecker Rotary Head Milling Machine Model 2D...I did precisely the same thing, recounted story here many times.
    They had two, side by side. Running one, by a big Swede, the other idle. "You're going to be running this one". Certain my reaction was utter confounded surprise, plenty of tool background but seeing a completely unique machine in action was total amazement. To this very instant, still equate his effort with the Wizard Dr. Oz behind his curtain...