Free 186 More Best Homemade Tools eBook:  
Get 2,000+ tool plans, full site access, and more.

User Tag List

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Thread: ??AUTO GATE OPENER WITH ELECTRIC MOTOR

Thanks
    Update.... Still working on AutoGateOpener (that's gonna be the name and spelling). Going to meet a guy today who has two garage door openers. He says one works and the other doesn't. Said I could have them both. Neither has a remote, but I'm sure that will be easy to overcome. I don't know, but I think you can get a universal?? Anyone know? First things first.. Let me get my hands on the units and see what shape they are in, what kind they are etc...

186 More Best Homemade Tools eBook

Thanks

C-Bag's Tools
    Even though the place we live in now has GDO, I can't say I'm an expert. I believe you can buy replacement remotes and there possibly are universals, but this is not like a tv remote. It's supposed to be secure so you can't just use any remote with any door. I've read of crooks who have scanners that can wait for you to use your GDO and " capture " your code. Then wait for you to leave then can open the GDO with it. I'm not trying to scare you, just some FYI. All this time on this planet, many houses and garages and this is my first with a GDO.

Mine is a roll up door and the GDO is a screw drive. The motor is attached to long screw with a nut with an arm running in a track. All this stuff is made to be inside a garage, out of the weather. If it gets wet, corrosion or dirt on it,, it gums up the works and really bogs the motor down. If not properly set up and maintained I'm sure the whole thing will quit as it also has sensors that if it pulls to many amps it thinks there something in the way and either shuts down or reverses.

I hope for your sake the freebies are complete because there's eyes, stops, sensors and all kinds of hardware that if it's not there will be a pain to find and could possibly be expensive to replace.

2000 Tool Plans

Thanks