Free 186 More Best Homemade Tools eBook:  
Get 2,000+ tool plans, full site access, and more.

User Tag List

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Cerrosafe

Thanks

Murph1090's Tools
    I've used it for a few other uses as well - some of them well off the beaten track!

As a locksmith, I have a key casting kit, lets me take an impression of the key to form a mould and make a exact copy of said key! Right out of the CIA playbook, eh?

I've also cast nuts and bolts from it, using two-part silicone to make a mould, making fasteners that would predictably fail at certain temps. Worked great!

Murph1090

186 More Best Homemade Tools eBook

Thanks
    Have heard of using it to mould around high precision parts as a sacrificial clamping surface so as to not cause damage from clamping. My old boss used some to replicate a British car club(?) Mediation for his Austin 10.
    Eric

2000 Tool Plans

Thanks
    Thanked 6,391 Times in 2,118 Posts

mklotz's Tools
    Quote Originally Posted by suther51 View Post
    Have heard of using it to mould around high precision parts as a sacrificial clamping surface so as to not cause damage from clamping. My old boss used some to replicate a British car club(?) Mediation for his Austin 10.
    Eric
    Yes, I've used it for clamping myself. It's especially useful for clamping castings with no reference surface so the initial surface can be machined

"Mediation"? Should that be medallion?
    ---
    Regards, Marv

Home Shop Freeware
    https://www.myvirtualnetwork.com/mklotz

Thanks
    Yes, sorry, a jumble of electrons always trying to out-guess the human.
    Eric

Thanks
    Thanked 6,391 Times in 2,118 Posts

mklotz's Tools
    Quote Originally Posted by suther51 View Post
    Yes, sorry, a jumble of electrons always trying to out-guess the human.
    Eric