Free 186 More Best Homemade Tools eBook:  
Get 2,000+ tool plans, full site access, and more.

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Does your job relate to your building activities?

Thanks

Does your job relate to your building activities?

As we've recently discussed, there are definitely some common denominators amongst those who enjoy our wide range of building activities. In thinking about that today, I began to wonder about the sorts of jobs we all have (or from which we're presently retired) and whether they were related or unrelated to our other interests. So…

Does your job relate to your building activities?

186 More Best Homemade Tools eBook

Thanks

scorch's Tools
    I am a mechanical engineer so I would say that my projects are pretty closely related to my job. After thinking about it I realized that most of my projects have stemmed from processes I saw or heard about through my day job.

Generally I learn a little about a process then I try to do it at home. Although the connection is not always that clear it seems to be the recurring theme in my projects.

2000 Tool Plans

Content Editor
    Supporting Member
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,850 Times in 1,652 Posts
    My jobs have been in management. So, definitely no building-related activities. That's why getting my hands greasy is therapy for me. I remember some years ago where I went into a meeting after having worked on my car for a couple of days. Seeing my slightly grimy nails and fingertips, the person beside me asked, "Did you have a breakdown?"

Content Editor
    Supporting Member
    Thanks
    Thanked 29,267 Times in 9,726 Posts
    I'm a grease monkey by trade and most of my projects involve metalwork. Automotive engineering is an interdisciplinary field, since it covers machining, material science, electronics, etc. My interests branched out from there over the years.

Al

Thanks

Iron Wings's Tools