Free 186 More Best Homemade Tools eBook:  
Get 2,000+ tool plans, full site access, and more.

User Tag List

Thread: Help with Whitworth (three plates) method

Thanks

Claudio HG's Tools

Question Help with Whitworth (three plates) method

Hello everybody and happy new year. I have a question about the Whitworth method, also known as three plates method. I've read some that say the plates to make flat should be rotated by 90° to be sure no twist remains, saying that a rotation by 180° could not reveal that twist.
    I've read the paper written by J. Whitworth and he mentioned to flip the plates, not to rotate by 90°. Also I am not an expert in this field so I would like to ask you guys for a little help.

To better understand the problem I also made a sort of simulation using a some semi-transparent drawing.
    So suppose we have three plates, A, B and C as in figure 1. The plus signs indicates the peaks (or highs) and the negative signs the througs (or lows). Zero indicate a middle point. In figure 1 the plates are seen from top, with the surfaces to be made flat up.

Now suppose we try to match B against A, figure 2, to do this we turn upside down B and in the drawing it is shown mirrored as it actually happens in reality. It is also in transparency to let us see where the highs and lows go in the simulation.
    Overlapping the parts (figure 3) we can notice that red plus of A match the green negative of B, and viceversa on the other corner, making them to cancel out each other. If we were to lay color we would see an even distribution on A (and B).
    Rotating by 90° (figure 4) the plus and minus no longer match, and probably we would be able to detect where the highs and lows are.
    However rotating by further 90°, or 180° in total which is equivalent to flip around the plate (figure 5), the highs and lows are even more detectable.