Free 186 More Best Homemade Tools eBook:  
Get 2,000+ tool plans, full site access, and more.

User Tag List

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Thread: How pirates stole the metric system from America - photos

Thanks
    Thanked 6,391 Times in 2,118 Posts

mklotz's Tools
    Quote Originally Posted by Philip Davies View Post
    Interesting you should refer to”2/3 thruppence”! Few people had difficulty using pounds, shillings and pence before decimalisation. Easier to divide a given measure into thirds!
    May I compliment you on your English? Only a very careful reading reveals a couple of clues that it is not your first language, and most internet posts by native speakers contain errors. I do not exclude myself, and I am a teacher of English. You are a convert, not a “convertite” - have you disabled your auto-correct? And you can’t write “eventual abuse”.
    Thanks especially for the diagram. I’ve seen this before, but can’t remember where. Does it include “nail” as a unit? Ah, yes it does!
    "Few people had difficulty using pounds, shillings and pence before decimalisation."

I'm sorry but that isn't my experience at all. I was there in the mid-60's, before decimalisation. I used to always count my change in an attempt to become used to the idiotic system. Often the change was wrong. At first, I assumed it was just the locals recognizing an American and, sensing an easy mark, making a convenient mistake. But then I noticed that often as not, the error was in my favor, not theirs. The only conclusion is that they were as confused by their money as I was.

"most internet posts by native speakers contain errors"

Amen to that. Even if they use spell checkers (and now there are grammar checkers) I doubt all but a very few could write a 200 word piece without some glaring spelling, grammar, or homophone error.