Free 186 More Best Homemade Tools eBook:  
Get 2,000+ tool plans, full site access, and more.

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: I'm new here!

Thanks

I'm new here!

I am a retired engineer now enjoying my many hobbies, one of which is machining metals to make various devices. I own several machine tools. An Emco-Maier Maximat V10 lathe, a Southbend 10" toolroom lathe, a Harbor Freight 7X10 mini lathe, A Grizzly G1006 mill, a Bridgeport "M" head knee mill, the Emco Maier Maximat V10 mill which comes attached to the V10 lathe. Lots of machinery and a nice, clean, air conditioned shop to maintain them. Now I am looking for machining projects!!

186 More Best Homemade Tools eBook

Jon
    Jon is offline Jon has agreed the Seller's Terms of Service
    Administrator
    Supporting Member
    Thanks
    Thanked 38,886 Times in 11,348 Posts
    Hi Iconoscope - welcome to HomemadeTools.net

Sounds like you'll fit in well here! What's next up on your project list? What can we help with?

2000 Tool Plans

3. The Following User Says Thank You to Jon For This Useful Post:

Iconoscope (Nov 14, 2016)

Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by Jon View Post
    Hi Iconoscope - welcome to HomemadeTools.net

Sounds like you'll fit in well here! What's next up on your project list? What can we help with?
    Thanks for the welcome, Jon!!
    My next project is to finish making a tool post grinder so that I can clean up the chuck jaws on my ancient South Bend lathe. The old 8" three jaw chuck has small but serious damage to the jaws that prevent proper centering of the work piece. Regrinding the jaws should correct most of the problem. Making a small cylinder to clamp in the jaws for this purpose will be a challenge as the jaws must protrude through slots cut into the cylinder. Those slots must be perfectly 120 degrees apart and of uniform width. Any thoughts on how that can be accomplished? I do have a rotary table.