Free 186 More Best Homemade Tools eBook:  
Get 2,000+ tool plans, full site access, and more.

User Tag List

Thread: I'm A Noob With Lots of Ideas

Thanks

Bullwinkle Moose's Tools

I'm A Noob With Lots of Ideas

I've been on browsing the forums for a while now and I like what I see. I see that many other members have great ideas that have made me think "I can do that". The old adage "Necessity is the mother of invention" really speaks in these forums. I'm a retired Sheriff's Deputy who is now a self-employed contractor. I am in the middle of a building remodel. I am converting an old (historic (built in 1898)) bank building into a coffee shop and bakery. The project has been a bit of a challenge. My latest endeavor is to cut away the bottom 6 inches of the safe door frames to make way for floor to wall coving (plastic baseboard). The challenge is to eliminate the grinding dust inside the building. I have a shoe string budget on this build so I looked at the forums for shop air filters. I decided that the shortest point between to 2 places is a straight line. Instead of building a large system, I would keep it simple and portable.

I purchased a 20 inch x 20 inch box fan ($20) and attached a pleated 20x25x1 inch furnace filter ($4) to the box with masking tape. I could not find a 20x20x1 inch furnace filter where I bought the fan, so I used a 20 x 25 inch filter and taped off the top half. 20 x 20 filters are available, just not where I live. I found some online for about $5 ea in a 6 pack. Other members had posted the same idea as responses to other shop air filter build posts, but I did not see any photos, or builds like mine.