Free 186 More Best Homemade Tools eBook:  
Get 2,000+ tool plans, full site access, and more.

User Tag List

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Thread: The Importance of Wheel-dressing when Surface Grinding is Revealed

Thanks

ranald's Tools
    I curious & perplexed that there have been such advances in wheels, wet & dry, that there hasn't been a similar advance in holding the wheels. I'm a novice:I have seen one white wheel about 3" wide that was worn down to about 8" diameter that had cracked and broken. If such was to happen during use it would be some what like an angle grinders cutting/grinding wheel disintegrating : extremely dangerous. I had a small one cut several parts of my body & 2 very deeply. I no longer buy cheapies. For my 9" angle grinder I could never remove the flange without heat (concern for the strength of the thread & broken spanners) until i used an extra paper/thincardboard flange under the metal screwed one. End of problem but I must point out that they tighten as revolving. It would seem that bench grinders do not & loosen a tab. I always let my wet wheel dry out while running (after removing tub) without incident relative to my very limited knowledge. my dry grinders I never check, sadly it would seem but often change types & grades.
    So why not better holding capacities of the stones?

186 More Best Homemade Tools eBook

Thanks

Okapi's Tools
    Reading again the post, I've just a comment from recent work I make with 50mm. dia. grinding wheel mounted on a B8 shaft with only tenths for the paper disk, I've glued the disks the day before under small pressure with wood glue because they make rule out problems with the speed and make vibrations.