Free 186 More Best Homemade Tools eBook:  
Get 2,000+ tool plans, full site access, and more.

User Tag List

Thread: Nautical Line Winding Fixture

Thanks
    Thanked 2,766 Times in 650 Posts

rgsparber's Tools

Nautical Line Winding Fixture

Although I'm a rank novice when it comes to boating, I have learned that coiling woven lines will cause it to kink when unbundled. Proper winding of heavy lines is easily done with just your hands. But thin lines are harder to manage. I run out of hands. The fixture offered here solves the problem.

If you are interested, please see

https://rick.sparber.org/LineWindingFixture.pdf

Your comments are welcome. All of us are smarter than any one of us.

Thanks,

Rick

186 More Best Homemade Tools eBook
    Rick

2. The Following 9 Users Say Thank You to rgsparber For This Useful Post:

baja (Sep 5, 2020), chy_farm (Sep 5, 2020), high-side (Sep 4, 2020), Jon (Sep 10, 2020), mklotz (Sep 4, 2020), Priemsy (Sep 4, 2020), Tonyg (Sep 5, 2020), Toolmaker51 (Sep 6, 2020), volodar (Sep 4, 2020)

Thanks
    Thanked 6,396 Times in 2,119 Posts

mklotz's Tools
    A variant of your alternate winding direction method is the way roadies wrap cables so as to make them uncoil without tangling. I've adopted this technique and find it more to my liking than the contractor's typical chain-link approach because it produces a more compact final product.

For the benefit of folks not familiar with the roadie method, good demonstration videos are available here...

https://lifehacker.com/coil-your-ext...r-u-1706890537

2000 Tool Plans
    ---
    Regards, Marv

Home Shop Freeware
    https://www.myvirtualnetwork.com/mklotz

4. The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to mklotz For This Useful Post:

baja (Sep 5, 2020), cmarlow (Sep 6, 2020), Inner (Sep 7, 2020), Toolmaker51 (Sep 6, 2020)

Thanks

rgsparber's Tools
    Quote Originally Posted by mklotz View Post