Free 186 More Best Homemade Tools eBook:  
Get 2,000+ tool plans, full site access, and more.

User Tag List

Thread: New member needs foot operated clamp

Thanks

Red face New member needs foot operated clamp

Hi,
    I am an occupational therapist working with children and the proud daughter of an awesome industrial arts teacher, Bill Walsh. I often have to jerryrig inventive solutions for students and young adults with disabilities so am looking for some creative solutions and inspiring ideas here at Homemade Tools. Right now I have student who only has use of one hand so want to make him a clamp he can operated with foot to hold paper for cutting, string for lacing, and other projects at school. If it works well enough he may be able to use it as a life long helping hand. Any ideas are welcome! I will share those I come up with and hope they help others.
    Thanks,
    Cheryl

186 More Best Homemade Tools eBook

Thanks
    Thanked 6,404 Times in 2,119 Posts

mklotz's Tools
    Quote Originally Posted by Cheryl View Post
    Hi,
    I am an occupational therapist working with children and the proud daughter of an awesome industrial arts teacher, Bill Walsh. I often have to jerryrig inventive solutions for students and young adults with disabilities so am looking for some creative solutions and inspiring ideas here at Homemade Tools. Right now I have student who only has use of one hand so want to make him a clamp he can operated with foot to hold paper for cutting, string for lacing, and other projects at school. If it works well enough he may be able to use it as a life long helping hand. Any ideas are welcome! I will share those I come up with and hope they help others.
    Thanks,
    Cheryl
    A variation of the ancient drawknife bench...

https://www.google.com/search?hl=en&....0.0kO8ufHNp64

might work for some tasks. Its utility could be increased with a variety of interchangeable clamp jaws.