Free 186 More Best Homemade Tools eBook:  
Get 2,000+ tool plans, full site access, and more.

User Tag List

Thread: Trouble with old sewing machine

Thanks

rendoman's Tools

Trouble with old sewing machine

I all
    I have an old Vigor sewing machine (maybe from 1920), in good external condition.
    I cleaned and oiled the links, the action is smooth but the machine is still not working.
    I'm not so sure about the path of wire, nor if the shuttle is ok

When I try to advance the wire doesn't make a turn around the shuttle and makes a tangle, causing wire breakage. Maybe it's a timing trouble, or worn parts
    Have some advice? I'm a noob of sewing machines, but I want to learn how to use

Saluti
    Stefano

Trouble with old sewing machine-dsc02022_1600x1200.jpg Trouble with old sewing machine-dsc02023_1600x1200.jpg

Trouble with old sewing machine-dsc02025_900x1200.jpg Trouble with old sewing machine-dsc02026_1600x1200.jpg

Trouble with old sewing machine-dsc02028_1600x1200.jpg Trouble with old sewing machine-dsc02030_1600x1200.jpg

Trouble with old sewing machine-dsc02032_1600x1200.jpg Trouble with old sewing machine-dsc02033_1600x1200.jpg

Trouble with old sewing machine-dsc02034_1600x1200.jpg Trouble with old sewing machine-dsc02035_1600x1200.jpg

Trouble with old sewing machine-dsc02036_1600x1200.jpg

186 More Best Homemade Tools eBook

2. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to rendoman For This Useful Post:

PJs (Feb 12, 2017), Toolmaker51 (Feb 13, 2017)

Thanks
    Thanked 2,980 Times in 1,893 Posts

Toolmaker51's Tools
    Used to sew insulation materials. Toolmaking is an expansive category, but I recall little of use to you.