Free 186 More Best Homemade Tools eBook:  
Get 2,000+ tool plans, full site access, and more.

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Beautiful Flycutting

Thanks

Crusty's Tools

Cool Beautiful Flycutting

Because I generally prefer to mill large areas using a flycutter, today I stumbled across an amazing technique. Unknown to me, the head on my mill was out of perpendicular to the table (less than a ½ degree though) and as I fed a part into the cutter I noticed that the trailing cut was a little bit deeper than the leading cut and as I studied it I also noticed that the surface left by the flycutter was really nice, smooth, uniform and showing a rainbow effect.

Thinking through all of this I realized that my mill head wasn't square to the table, making the flycutter point a little deeper on one side than on the other and if the material is fed so that the deepest point takes the last cut two things happen 1. the leading cut takes out the bulk of the material and the trailing cut is a light skim pass and 2. since the skim pass is a light cut it leaves a very nice finish to the surface just milled.

I'm going to be intentionally setting my mill head sightly out of square when I flycut from now on. Even a blind squirrel finds an acorn every now and then.

186 More Best Homemade Tools eBook
    If you can't make it precise make it adjustable.

2. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Crusty For This Useful Post:

DIYSwede (Jul 10, 2019), Jon (Jul 9, 2019), Scotsman Hosie (Jul 13, 2019)

Thanks

DIYSwede's Tools
    Thanks for sharing!
    For getting that truly insane flycutter finish on gummy or hard-to-machine materials, you might try a "Horizontal Shear Bit Flycutter":
    Vertical shear bit - Page 4 - The Home Machinist!

Just remember - ONLY a HSS finishing tool: low rpm, thou-deep DOCs.

2000 Tool Plans

4. The Following User Says Thank You to DIYSwede For This Useful Post:

Crusty (Jul 10, 2019)

Thanks

Crusty's Tools