Free 186 More Best Homemade Tools eBook:  
Get 2,000+ tool plans, full site access, and more.

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: furniture hobbyist

Thanks

furniture hobbyist

I'm a keen cabinet maker hobbyist. I'd like to make supports for supporting long pieces of wood while machining them. They have to be height adjustable

186 More Best Homemade Tools eBook

Jon
    Jon is online now Jon has agreed the Seller's Terms of Service
    Administrator
    Supporting Member
    Thanks
    Thanked 38,900 Times in 11,355 Posts
    Hi etie1009 - welcome to HomemadeTools.net

Good question; I'm going to ask some of our woodworking guys if they have ideas for you.

2000 Tool Plans

Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by etie1009 View Post
    I'm a keen cabinet maker hobbyist. I'd like to make supports for supporting long pieces of wood while machining them. They have to be height adjustable
    The best designs I have seen involve a tripod base and telescoping "T" on top. It is easier to make a 4 legged base with crossed 2x4 s which will allow diagonal braces for additional stability. Usually there are 2 2x4 attached vertically to the base with a clamped or pinned slider to adjust height. The slider is capped with perpendicular 2x4 "T" top.
    Hope this is helpful, and enjoy the work.
    Last edited by John L. Foley; May 22, 2017 at 03:50 PM.

Thanks

gavcon's Tools
    I use an adjustable height garment rack (something like this: https://www.amazon.com/Tatkraft-Adju...e+clothes+rack ), to support the outfeed table of my Shopsmith and to hold up the end of long boards for the chopsaw. One of my tenants left one when he moved out, so mine was free, but they are pretty cheap, easy to stash and they are sturdy. Downside is that it may be too tall for some applications, although I'm sure it can be fairly easily modified to a lower height range and still retain the adjustability.

5. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to gavcon For This Useful Post: