Free 186 More Best Homemade Tools eBook:  
Get 2,000+ tool plans, full site access, and more.

User Tag List

Thread: Hard hat color codes - photo

2. The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to Altair For This Useful Post:

clydeman (Apr 23, 2022), Duke_of_URL (Apr 23, 2022), EnginePaul (Apr 23, 2022), Miloslav (Apr 23, 2022), nova_robotics (Apr 23, 2022), schuylergrace (Apr 23, 2022)

Supporting Member
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,148 Times in 619 Posts

nova_robotics's Tools
    Every site is different. The only real adherence that I've seen is white is always for management. Otherwise it's all up for grabs. Some sites green is for new hires (i.e. the people who are definitely going to cause a safety incident and get hurt), some sites it goes by trade, but most sites it goes by contractor. For example, all KBR employees wear brown hard hats, except management who always wear white.

Also people just bring their own hard hats and wear them. They collect stickers. More stickers = more experience = more respect. Guys are always collecting stickers and try to have ever square inch plastered. I nearly had a mutiny on one job site because home office wanted to give out new hard hats to everybody. That meant they had to wear clean hard hats instead of the ones where they were collecting all their stickers. You want to see a bunch of 40 and 50 year old men regress to the age of a 5 year old and throw a tantrum? Take away their stickers.

2000 Tool Plans

4. The Following User Says Thank You to nova_robotics For This Useful Post:

schuylergrace (Apr 23, 2022)

Thanks

Floradawg's Tools
    I don't think pink would fly these days. Rainbow colors, yes.
    Stupid is forever, ignorance can be fixed.

6. The Following User Says Thank You to Floradawg For This Useful Post:

Toolmaker51 (Apr 24, 2022)

Thanks

Moby Duck's Tools