Free 186 More Best Homemade Tools eBook:  
Get 2,000+ tool plans, full site access, and more.

User Tag List

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Thread: Hardware storage unit

Thanks

Hemi's Tools
    I bet you guys, I have 75 or MORE of those organizers, NOT from Harbor Freight but from a craft store (I'm a model builder) and store a LOT of detail parts in organizers much like these here.... I'd LOVE to be able to "french" mount a case to hold the most common ones, or currently used cases in the end of one of my work benches.... -As I currently have these cases in a 3 drawer plastic cabinet that rolls around on wheels in my small shop, that I'd like to be able to free up the rolling cabinet, and have the cases stored elsewhere or simply place at the end of the bench, and have the main supply of organizers else where and just have out the ones I'm currently using....

Thought about making this from Melamine, and cutting in slots to accept .100" thick plexiglass to hold the organizers, and then "french" in this small cabinet to the end of one of my benches......

186 More Best Homemade Tools eBook

Thanks
    Thanked 6,378 Times in 2,116 Posts

mklotz's Tools
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul Jones View Post
    Marv,
    I keep several inexpensive heavy duty tweezers next my storage bins and partitioned boxes so I can easily extract a single screw or nut. The tweezers also work well for sorting through the bin or partitioned boxes. The tweezers with rubber tips are especially useful.
    Paul
    As do I, Paul. Surgical forceps (fancy name for largish tweezers) are at each of my workstations. With my Neanderthalic fingers, they are essential for any manipulation of small parts.

That said, I can't afford the spatial luxury of having only one type of item in each storage compartment. A bin of small springs may contain many sizes and, inevitably, the smaller ones sink to the bottom, necessitating dumping the bin to get to them.

In addition to forceps, stamp tweezers...