Free 186 More Best Homemade Tools eBook:  
Get 2,000+ tool plans, full site access, and more.

User Tag List

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Thread: Improving the RF-30 Mill/Drill Y Axis Take Up Nut

Thanks
    Thanked 2,763 Times in 650 Posts

rgsparber's Tools
    You make a good point about O-rings. Maybe I should wait for my Belleville washers to come in... Yes, I would put a washer on each bolt.

Thanks!

Rick

186 More Best Homemade Tools eBook

Thanks

C-Bag's Tools
    Now I'm not trying to second guess you here and I'm an admitted noob....but it seems the Belleville washers would be counter productive on the bolts. They would provide constant pressure if tightened enough to keep the bolts from moving around wouldn't they? There's no difference between them and a split lock washer is there? I thought that's why you didn't want a split lock washer.

To me this is a lot like your solution for the keeping the way adjuster in place. The way the old lead screw adjustment worked was to put back pressure against the clamping pressure of the single screw. But it also caused an uneven angle of pressure. So in my pea brain it seems the bolt heads need to be captured in the cap of the takeup nut, or some kind of compression washer like the Bellville in between the cap and body of the takeup nut. But that might mean it has to be different thickness to get the fit right. And still would need a solution for keeping the bolts from backing out. That's why the striplock appeals to me.

Or am I just like my avatar, just blowing steam and getting nowhere?

2000 Tool Plans

Thanks

rgsparber's Tools
    By comment was misleading. Let me expand on it. Please let me know if this still sounds bogus.