Free 186 More Best Homemade Tools eBook:  
Get 2,000+ tool plans, full site access, and more.

User Tag List

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Thread: Extending the range of calipers

Thanks
    Thanked 6,391 Times in 2,118 Posts

mklotz's Tools
    Quote Originally Posted by old_toolmaker View Post
    I did very well with geometry in high school. I was an A+ student. I struggled with Trigonometry though.
    It wasn’t until I began my first year in Trade school the geometry really began to click for me. Suddenly I saw how it could be applied and used in the real world! I became an ace with geometry, so much so that I became the go to person if anyone had a geometry problem they deemed unsolvable. My ego became inflated! Then came CAD and now we were all on equal footing again. Everything seems to go full circle in the end. New technology replaces old an si goes evolution. Nothing is forever. Enjoy today!
    The problem with CAD, and programs like it, is the fact that, while you can solve a particular problem, you learn nothing about math from it.

Mathematics is learned in a progression; each field builds on what was learned in the previous. Back when the schools actually taught useful material rather than woke psycho babble, the progression looked like

arithmetic
    algebra
    geometry
    trigonometry
    analytic geometry
    calculus
    advanced specialties, e.g. probability, statistics, matrix algebra, etc.

Once you introduce a tool like CAD, you eliminate the algebra and problem solving practice that you would get by following this progression.

186 More Best Homemade Tools eBook
    ---
    Regards, Marv

Home Shop Freeware
    https://www.myvirtualnetwork.com/mklotz

2. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to mklotz For This Useful Post:

old_toolmaker (Jun 13, 2021), volodar (Jun 13, 2021)

Thanks

mklotz's Tools
    Quote Originally Posted by WmRMeyers View Post