Free 186 More Best Homemade Tools eBook:  
Get 2,000+ tool plans, full site access, and more.

User Tag List

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Thread: Remote control milling machine and lathe help

Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by eodcoduto View Post
    This is my first post and it is a good one. I am a Marine EOD tech and we use a very expensive and poorly built remote controlled 3-in-1 lathe mill for the disassembly and exploitation of ordnance. We can't get parts anymore so we have decided to build our own machine and scale it down some. We have a Grizzly bench-top mill and a Grizzly 9" lathe as our base.

My goal is to attach motors to all axis with a 50' pendant so that we can mill, drill, and turn remotely but also still use the manual controls of the machine for making tools and parts. I know what a stepper motor and pulse generator are and that is where my experience ends. Any help or advice on how to built the electrical control system is greatly appreciated. Mounting the motors will be the easiest part.
    Now, why would the best equipped and possibly the best-funded army in the world have its techs running to this forum for help? But not only that, also stating they only have a very cheap benchtop mill and 9" lathe at there disposal. And then they also want to use the base unit of the proposed machine to make tools and parts! Now I would have also thought that with all the electronics in modern fighting weapons there should be some techs on the base that could help out

Guys something does not add up here. The bona fides of any person looking for information of this kind should be checked first, before imparting information that might be helpful to a possible potential enemy of the USA.
    However, i do apologize in advance if this person is who they claim to be and is kosher. But it never pays to be very careful in the present world we live in.

186 More Best Homemade Tools eBook

Thanks
    Thanked 2,627 Times in 705 Posts

tonyfoale's Tools